The annual meeting of the Seboka (Synod) of the Lesotho Evangelical Church in Southern Africa was held at the Mophato oa Morija Conference Centre in Morija from the 26th to the 30th of April 2017.  The 118 delegates present were composed of representatives of all twelve presbyteries, church associations and institutions.  Only 2 delegates were unable to attend.

During the conference, the five pastors ordained since the 2016 Seboka took their oaths acknowledging the authority of the Seboka.   These pastors were:  Rev. Tjallo Monese (Quthing Parish), Rev. Sello Mosololi (Thupalika Parish), Rev. Seati  Molati (Leqooa Parish), Rev. Bonang Mapitse (Tsoelike Parish) and Rev. Tlotliso Mantutle (Seforong Parish).

Elections were held for the position of Moderator and other members of the LECSA Executive Committee.  Rev. Tšeliso Simeon Masemene was re-elected as Moderator.  The full Executive Committee is as follows:

Moderator:  Rev. Tšeliso Simeon Masemene

Deputy Moderator:  Rev. Jane Timothy Makakane

Deputy Moderator:  Judge Teboho Joseph Moiloa Moiloa

Secretary:  Mr.  Tumo  Abraham Makhabane

Deputy Secretary:  Rev. ‘Matšepang Rosalia Seotsanyana

Member:  Rev. Khabeshe Zakaria Ramonotši

Member:  Evangelist James Machaea  Mokaeane

Member:  Mr.  Letuka Azaria Sephelane

Member:  Mrs.  Teboho Maliakae Selebalo

Member:  Mr.  Rakotelo Elisha Nkoka

Alternates:  Rev. Bernard Mojaki Kometsi, Rev. Elsie ‘Malikopo  Mohlatsane, Evangelist Lebenya Samuel  Mokati,  Mr.  David Motsai Monareng, Mrs. Adelaide ‘Mamorapeli Kotele and Mr. Ntšilo Pitso

The Synod completed all the business that was tabled.  One of the issues of concern to the church is the encroachment on church sites due to the fact many sites lack the required legal documents.  The Synod took the decision that all the structures of the church must take the required steps to protect sites from further encroachment and that this exercise should be completed by July 2018.